Introduction

Final Major Project

Unit 8: Developing a Game Development Project

Assessment date: Monday 21st March – Friday 22nd June 2016

Project Brief

 

The Final Major Project is for you to use all the skills that you have developed over the year to produce an individual response that demonstrates this learning effectively. It is your own motivation, enthusiasm and determination that you put in that will produce the work you can be proud of. All your work pieces must be completed for assessment including your final pieces.

 

Within this brief you can explore any of the themes below. Using a mind map on your chosen theme, you will identify areas to research. You will produce a project folder of idea development and a final piece. You will also describe and evaluate the effectiveness of your work throughout the project. You must demonstrate independent thought processes and working methods and have a degree of self-direction and motivation in planning, reviewing and organising your own work.

 

 

Themes

 

Western Medieval Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Seasons, Horror and Weirdness, Physical Form, Automotive, Steampunk, Pre-Visualisation

 

Project proposal

Candidate name: Rory Gardner

Candidate number: 20052510

Pathway: Game Development

Project title: Robot

Mind Map

IMG_0847 IMG_0848

Project Concept

 For my final major project I’m going to create a 3D model of a robot. I will create a base skeleton type robot and then build an aesthetic around the base model based upon my research of either western medieval cyber or steam punk. My final pieces will consist of still renders, clay renders, wire frame renders, animated shorts. I will also create a physical model of my robots head partially damaged and destroyed to submit my final work and create the narrative of the robot being destroyed in some sort of battle and then its files have been recovered from the robots hard drives   

 

Introduction

For my final major project I have decided to create a 3D model of a robot. I decided to create a 3D model because it is the area of this course I am most confident and proficient in and have enjoyed learning and would be the most suitable media to show case my skills as a final major project. The concept for my final major project is to Create a 3D model of a robot then create still renders, clay renders, wire frame renders and animated shorts as my final pieces. I will submit this physically by Creating a Physical model of the Robots heads and storing the final pieces on USB’s within the Robots head, the physical model of the robot will have a damaged and destroyed aesthetic to give the context that the viewer  has recovered the robot head after a battle  and is attempting to pull the files from its hard drive. the Idea for this concept was inspired by a USB I had removed the plastic casing from. the inside of the USB was interesting and gave me an idea to make my project more distinct by adding a physical aspect to the project and to give context to the project to build upon and inspire me. I First had the idea for this concept at the beginning the course when I asked my tutor how hard a distinction is to achieve and he told about a past student who had achieved a distinction for her final major project which consisted of a short film of a girl reading letters at a desk and that as her final major project along side the short film she produced she also submitted the desk with research notes written on the desk. he also said that to achieve a distinction level you would not only need to produce distinction level work but have a piece of work that is distinct, and that inspired my idea for this concept. With my initial idea from the start of the year I had the idea of creating an animation of the robot falling in battle with a shot from his perspective as well as the final piece but as the course progressed I realized how this would not be a possible out come as the time and skill involved is beyond my current level as I would not be able to create the bones and rig the model for this type of ambitious animation I had in mind. which is why this current concept has been revised to still renders, clay renders, wire frame renders and animated shorts. A slight worry as well with this idea is that since it was conceived so early on within the course that I might be restricting my self  of other potential ideas for this project as I have sort of been blinded by my first initial idea i struggled to conceive other potential ideas to potentially  follow and develop but I haven’t been able to think of another potential  idea better then this and I am confident and believe in this concepts potential.

Project plan

IMG_0851

Research plan notes

Stage 1:

initial mind map- diverse and varied broad subject matter potential source materials

physical model research- looking at materials process and techniques my past experience with clay modroc paper mache as possible materials to construct the physical model(need to keep in mind the design and material needed to replicate the 3D model to keep it consistent with the 3D model.)

Stage 2:

mind map and mood board(visual inspiration for form) Human anatomy skeletons Basic robots Visual analysis looking at internal mechanics of robots giving thought to the joints and movement of the robot and what components make up the robots range of motion.

Stage 3:

Start production of base model- the base model will be independent of the theme research so i will start production of the base model and finish it before the Theme research to help give perspective and ideas and to refine my research  when it comes to developing  my desired theme.

Stage 4:

Research potential themes looking specifically at characters and Armour within the themes potential weapons types of warfare social connotations taking reference from my base model on how I want to proceed.

Stage 5:

chosen theme production creating the Armour to go around the base model staying consistent with the chosen theme creating Armour relevant and in proportion with the base model.

Stage 6:

Final piece create the still renders, clay renders, wire frame renders and animated shorts. keeping in mind render times presentation.

Physical model production after the 3D model is created and finalised i can start production of the Physical model

Project time line

I have 10 weeks to produce my final major project and I have split it into 6 stages as an initial project time line i plan to spend

Week 1

stage 1 and stage 2

Week 2

Week 3

stage 3

Week 4

stage 4

Week 5

Week 6

stage 5

Week 7

Week 8

stage 6

Week 9

week 10

contingency time

This initial project time line I have created I have decided to use  2 weeks of the modeling portions of the projects as they will be the most time intensive parts and leaving one week for the research portions leaving my with 2 weeks for contingency.I think will need to re-asses this timeline around the week 3 stage as i start the production of the 3D model to deiced if i am on track and if this is a realistic plan to follow and make any changes to the projected plan to ensure that i finish on Time.

Leave a comment